Winter Visitor #15: Assessor

6 December 2012 | 6 Comments

Ah, the assessor. You never know when he’s going to drop by your vineyard to calculate the value of your various assets.

This can be a very, very powerful card…if you need money. Which is for most of the game. In Viticulture, your maximum hand size is 7, but you don’t discard down to 7 until the end of the year. So if you plan a big year where all you do is draw cards, and then you play this guy, you’re in for a windfall.

Assessor

Leave a Comment

6 Comments on “Winter Visitor #15: Assessor

  1. On the Tabletopia version of the game, this card says, “Gain +1 Lira for each card in your hand, OR discard your hand (min of 1 card) to gain 1 VP” That exact question lead me to this page to find the answer.

  2. Now I see it on the english card…
    Our problem was that in the german edition the “not counting this one” is neither written on the card nor in the explaining text inside the rules :-(

    1. Ah, I see. I’m not sure why that happened. Though the rule should be consistent between the editions that when you play a card, you immediately place it on the discard pile, then you do the thing on the card.

  3. Thanks a lot for the quick reply. This was also my opinion. But you know, we had a discussion with a friend…
    Now I’m already looking forward to meet him again ;-)

  4. Do I also get one lira for the assessor card itself?
    Or only for the other cards which are still in my hand?

    Example: I have three cards, one of them is the assessor. Do I get 2 or 3 lira?

    Thanks,
    Michael

    1. Michael: That’s the “not counting this one” note on the card. The Assessor does not count as a card in hand for gaining lira, as you have to play it (discard it) to activate that ability.

© 2020 Stonemaier Games