Current Printing (2019)
The current printing of Euphoria is pretty much identical to the second and third printings. However, we did add one component: Game Trayz are now included inside the box. You can tell the difference at local retailers because there is a “Game Trayz inside” sticker on the shrinkwrap of this printing. Also, the SKU has changed from STM200 to STM205.
Second Printing and Updated Recruits
The second printing of Euphoria is now available! It is available in Europe in English, French, German, and Czech, as well as in the US. Very little is different between the second printing and the first–there are a few more resource and commodity tokens, and there are wooden stars instead of cardboard stars.
Also, 16 of the recruit cards have been updated–these are included in the second printing. These 16 cards are included for free in each Treasure Chest we sell, and they are available through the BGG store for $5. A comparison of those recruits to the originals can be found here.
Why Did We Update 16 Recruits?
There were a few broken cards (Michael the Engineer and Nakagawa the Tribute) that we needed to fix, along with other cards that were either slightly too good or not good enough.
One fairly consistent note is that a lot of cards had a cost of -2 morale or +2 knowledge. We considered them roughly the same in playtesting, but it was revealed when the game hit a much bigger audience that people considered knowledge much more valuable than morale. So we decreased most of the knowledge costs to +1 knowledge.
There were also a few cards that had confusing phrasing (people consistently asked for clarification), so we made the cards easier to understand.
Use this helpful 2-page guide in place of the rules for quick reference (created by Nersi Nikakhtar)
Other than at the beginning of the game, when do I roll dice (workers)?
Whenever you remove dice from the board for any reason, roll that die or dice. Here are the situations in which you will be rolling a die or dice:
- Retrieving dice from the board (roll only the retrieved dice).
- Making a new worker (roll only the new worker).
- Your worker is bumped off the board by another worker (roll only the bumped worker die).
- Any dice that were on a construction site when a market is completed (roll only those dice).
When do I check for total knowledge?
Check for total knowledge every time you roll at least one die(see above answer for those times).
If there are open spaces on a territory, can I place more than one of my authority tokens on that territory?
Yes. Here are the various places you can place authority tokens:
- On a constructed market (max 1; place an authority token here by helping to build the market or by placing a worker on the corresponding artifact market)
- On a territory (between 2-6 authority tokens per territory depending on player count, no limit per player until space runs out in the territory)
- On a recruit card (max 1 per recruit; place an authority token here once that recruit’s faction reaches the end of the allegiance track)
- On a completed ethical dilemma card (max 1)
Can any player place a worker on a standard tunnel action space?
Any player may place a worker on any action space on the board (including the tunnels) regardless of their allegiance, with the one exception being the action spaces that open up when a tunnel is complete. The unlocked action spaces are only available for players who have a recruit of faction who controls that tunnel (see the name of the tunnel, e.g., Euphorian Tunnel).
On the sixth tier of the tunnel, which recruit cards are activated?
Recruits of the faction digging the tunnel are activated (look at the label on the tunnel for clarity on whose faction the tunnel is).
If I use my ethical dilemma to draw a new recruit and recruits of that faction have already been activated via the tunnel or allegiance track, is that new recruit activated right away?
Yes it is. On a similar note, if the end of the allegiance track for that faction has been reached, it is both activated and receives an authority token right away.
What does the “any resource” icon mean on the board and on recruit cards?
The “any resource” icon, a 3D cube in the colors of gold, clay, and stone, is seen on the board on some Icarite markets. It means “1 of any resource.” However, there are also some recruit cards that have abilities that activate if you have no resources in your possession–they also use the “any resource” icon to indicate this. Example: Zong the Astronomer says, “When you place a worker on the Cloud Mine, if you have no [any resource] and…” In those cases it should be read simply as “resources”.
If I’m being penalized by a market that makes me lose a resource or commodity every time a roll a 4, what happens if I roll two 4s?
You’ll lose two resource/commodity tokens.
Is the Worker Activation Tank part of Subterra?
Nope. The Tank is not aligned to any factions.
How many construction site spaces must be occupied by workers to complete construction of a market?
This depends on the number of players. For 2-3 players, any 2 spaces on a construction site must be occupied by workers. For 4 players, any 3 spaces must be occupied. For 5-6 players, all 4 spaces must be occupied.
Placing multiple workers on the same turn: I’ve heard a lot of ideas thrown around, but as a whole, the game plays almost exactly like I want it to. The only unofficial variant someone mentioned on BGG that I like is if your group doesn’t like the rule about rolling doubles (the rule is if you start your turn with dice that share the same number from previous rolls, you may place all dice that share that number on the same turn–doubles, triples, even quadruples), you could tweak it to say: “If you roll doubles or triples (or quadruples!), if you want to place more than one of those workers on the same turn, you have to lose 1 morale for each one of them before you place it.”
Placing a worker on a constructed market to put an authority star on that market (to get out of a penalty): Officially the only way to place an authority star on a constructed market is by visiting the corresponding artifact market. If it works for your group, you could also allow for a player to place an authority star on a constructed market (if it doesn’t already have their star) by placing a worker on that market and paying the cost. This creates more variability in the ways you can get out of a penalty.
Teaching a game to new players can be daunting and stressful, and so I want to make it as easy on you as possible. Please take a look at this 7-minute video on how to teach Euphoria. It includes 9 tips for teaching the game. I’ll list them below in case you just want to read them:
Focus on one faction’s area on the board when teaching/learning Euphoria to reduce the amount of initial information.
- Basic theme: You’re a low-level manager in a dystopia, and you’re trying to use your workers to take over. Workers are dice, and the numbers on those dice represents their knowledge. Because it’s a dystopia, you want your workers to be dumb and happy.
- Win condition: Place all 10 of your authority stars on the board or on your cards, and you win.
- Turn options: You either place one worker (two if you have a pair–this counts as two separate turns in a row) or remove any/all workers from the board. When you place a worker, you immediately pay the cost and receive the benefit.
- Overarching iconology: Costs are in grey squares and benefits are in white circles.
- Types of action spaces: the big box on the commodity areas (multi-use), the dotted line square with an arrow on the tunnels and markets (temporary use), and the solid line box on the construction sites.
- First turn: Spend your first turn placing one worker on a commodity area and taking the corresponding benefit.
- Goal for your first few turns: Focus on your active recruit card for the first several turns. This will give you a short-term goal to focus on while you’re getting the hang of the game.
The following card and tile should change to this:
Michael loses his ability to advance the Euphorian allegiance track, and he now gains knowledge when he uses gold. The Lounge previously did not allow a player to build a constructed market on their own (if other players don’t help, it becomes impossible for that player to build, which wasn’t our intent), so now that’s possible. It’s just a clarification to the original tile, not an actual change.