FAQ

All of these questions are answered in the rules, but they are sometimes confused. If you have additional questions, please ask them in the comments section or on the consolidated FAQ on BoardGameGeek.

We also offer a quick-reference guide created by BGG user Nersi Nikakhtar. First-edition errata are listed here, and a full list of all visitor cards is here.

Viticulture Essential Edition

See details here.

Why aren’t my vineyard mats and game board double sided?

We only print double-sided boards if we’re combining a printing with an international partner (one side is in English, the other in a different language). Several of the more recent printings have only been in English; however, we failed to update the components list to remove the words “double sided”.

Viticulture Second Edition

revised_merchantWhy is there an extra Merchant card in the box?

When you open your copy of Viticulture, you’ll find a loose Merchant card and a Merchant card packed together with the other winter visitor cards. When we were almost finished producing this print run of Viticulture, we realized that the Merchant card had a typo, so we quickly reprinted the correct card and slid it into the box. The correct Merchant card is shown here (the other one should be torn up and tossed to the wind). There is only one version of the Merchant card in the Essential Edition, as it is correct in that edition (it’s the “advanced” version of this card).

If I got the stickers to update my first-edition Viticulture vineyard mats, where do the stickers go?

See below for the second-edition vineyard mats to see where to place those stickers.

2014-12-20_2240

Can the grande worker be placed on a private action space (i.e., the yoke)?

The grande worker can be used as a regular worker on any action space. However, if you wish to use the grande’s special ability (the ability to place it on a full action space to take the action), you can only place the grande on the game board.

Gameplay

How many workers can I place during my turn?

Just one. On your turn you can place 1 worker or pass. When you pass, you cannot place other workers until the next season.

When can I place a worker on the middle action space in a 3-6 player game?

Each action has a bonus associated with one of the action spaces for the 3-6 player game. If you place a worker on an action space that has a bonus, you must take that action, but the bonus is optional. You may take the bonus before or after you take the action. When you place a worker, you may choose any of the action spaces available in the current season (and for the spaces available based on player count)–that is, you don’t have to choose action spaces from left to right on any action.

Can I play a visitor card even if I can’t do everything the card says?

You must be able to do the minimum requirement on the card. For example, there is a card that asks you to give a card to each player, and you gain 2 lira per player to whom you give a card. If there are 4 other players and you only have 3 cards to hand out, you can’t play the card. If a card says “up to” (i.e., Plant up to 2 vines), you must fulfill the card to some extent. In that example, you must actually plant at least 1 vine.

If a visitor card has multiple things to do, in which order do I do them?

Unless the card specifically states an order of operations, you can play out the stages on the card in any order.

Does my vine card stay on the field when I harvest, or do I discard it?

Yes! Your vine cards stay on the field when you harvest–the rules note that you cannot move vines once they are planted (unless you intentionally uproot them). Just as if you planted a vine in real life, when you harvest grapes from that vine, the vine itself stays in the ground. It’s only the grapes that come off the vine, which are represented in Viticulture by glass tokens that you place on your crushpad.

Can I harvest the same field more than once per year?

No, you can only harvest each field once per year. If you take the bonus action space for harvesting a field (it says “x2”), it means that you get to harvest 2 fields instead of just 1.

How many wine tokens can I make when I crush grapes?

This action has been changed from “crush grapes” to “make up to 2 wine tokens.” Thus you may make 1 or 2 wine tokens of any type of wine (each token may be a different type of wine). If you place a worker on the bonus action space, you may make an additional wine token.

How do I make blush or sparkling wine?

To make a single blush wine token, you must combine one red grape token and one white grape token. You add their values together to determine the value of the blush wine token. Similarly, you make sparkling wine by combining two red grape tokens and one white grape token (it might seem odd, but that’s the most common way of making sparkling wine). You cannot combine two same-color grapes (i.e., you can’t add a 1-value white grape and a 2-value white grape to make a 3-value white wine).

How does the “Hire Out Extra Workers for 1 lira” (this is simply “Gain 1 lira” in the second edition) action space work?

This action space is on the board to help players when there are no other actions to take in the summer or winter (or when you need an extra lira). You use your turn to place one worker on that action space, and you gain 1 lira. You (and other players) may place any number of workers on that space over the course of a year–there is no limit.

Do I get my workers back at the end of summer?

No, you don’t get your workers back until the end of the year. Thus you need to plan ahead each year if you need to save some workers for the winter.

When I use the bonus middle action space to play 2 visitor cards, what is the order of operations?

You select and play them one at a time, resolving the effects of the first before selecting and playing the second.

Can I build a large cellar before I build a medium cellar?

Nope. Good try, though!

Can I combine wine tokens when filling wine orders (i.e., if a wine order asks for a 5-value red wine, can I use a 2-value red wine token and a 3-value red wine token)?

Each wine symbol on wine orders requires exactly one wine token of equal or greater value. Thus for a wine order requesting a 5-value red wine, you need to provide exactly one red wine token worth at least 5.

What does the money on the bottom of the wine order cards mean?

When you fill a wine order, you gain victory points right away as noted on the card. You don’t take any lira, though; rather, you move your wine bottle token up 1 or 2 levels (depending on the wine order) on the residual payment track at the bottom right of the board. At the end of the year, you gain money equal to your level on the residual payment track. The residual tokens only move when you fill a wine order–otherwise they never increase or decrease (i.e, if you fill a wine order and move your token up to 1 lira, you don’t move it again in any direction until you fill another wine order, and in the meantime you gain 1 lira at the end of each year).

Why do players choose their wake-up times clockwise, but the first-player token rotates counter-clockwise?

In Viticulture, the first player only matters when choosing wake-up times in the spring. Otherwise for the rest of the year, player order each season is determined by the wake-up chart. So every spring, players take turns choosing their wake-up time in a clockwise manner. However, at the end of the year, the first-player token is passed counter-clockwise. The reason for this is so that the the last player at the beginning of the game (especially a larger game) doesn’t have a disadvantage compared to the other players. For example, in Year One of a 5-player game, Player A goes first and Player E goes last. At the end of the year, if the first-player token were to be passed clockwise, Player E would go second to last–they’re still near the bottom in terms of selection priority. And so on each year. By having the first-player token passed in the opposite direction as wake-up selection order, the game is more balanced for all players.

Do I have to draw 2 of the same type of visitor card if I have the cottage?

No, you can draw any combination of 2 visitor cards. You must draw them at the same time, though–you can’t look at the first card before making a decision about the second.

Visitors

For all visitors, to play a visitor card, you must be able to play all aspects of the card. You may take the actions on a visitor card in any order. Some of these descriptions might refer to old versions of the visitors from the first edition.

Handyman (original): You do not lose vines you’ve planted if you use the Handyman to upgrade, say, a Trellis into a Large Cellar. You only need a Trellis to plant vines. Once a vine is planted, it stays on your field permanently (unless you decide to uproot it). You cannot upgrade a medium cellar to a large cellar using the handyman.

Uncertified visitors: All uncertified visitors let you spend victory points instead of money. As you can see on the game board, it is possible to have as low as -5 victory points. Thus you can spend victory points even if you are at or below 0 as long as they don’t take you below -5.

Mentor: Each player individually chooses the type of wine to make when the mentor is played. Each player may make as many wine tokens as they can for the wine type they choose.

Crusher/Crush Expert: When playing a card that says, “Make any or all types of wine,” you may make as many wine tokens as you like.

Some visitors ask you to “choose 2.” For those visitors, you must choose two different options.

In the Box

What’s the difference between the retail version of the first-edition Viticulture and the full Kickstarter version?

The full Kickstarter version of Viticulture includes the following components not included in the retail version: 4 promo visitor cards, 1 scorebook, 8 wine coasters, 1 wine crate box sleeve, 1 custom art print, 1 set of stickers to customize the game, and the Arboriculture expansion (6 player mat extensions, 18 arbor cards, 6 grande worker meeples, 6 morale tokens, and 1 rule book).

What type of cards sleeves do I need for the game and how many?

If you want card sleeves for your copy of Viticulture, the sleeves you want are for “Euro mini” cards (the cards are 44x68mm). They need to be clear on both sides, and you’ll need 3 packs of 50 (there are 140 cards in the game). Important: If you have Viticulture Essential, there are 154 mini cards, so you’ll need 4 packs of 50 sleeves.

What are the stickers for?

There is a sheet of stickers in the box with all of the different icons in the game and different numerical increments. This was a Kickstarter stretch goal that is not actually needed for the game, but after you’ve played the game a number of times, you might want to customize your copy by changing some of the numbers on the cards, board, or player mats. Perhaps you might have a Risk: Legacy-style house rule that allows the winner to change one icon on one of the player mats. The player mats are double sided, so you can always keep one side the same, and the back side could be different (like the different player mats in 7 Wonders).

What’s the story on the art print?

I had my artist create a piece of art that contains every Viticulture Kickstarter backer on it as a way of thanking you all for making this dream a reality.

What’s the surprise in the box? I couldn’t find it!

I hinted at a special surprise for all backers back in March…but I didn’t exactly say it was going to be IN the box. Rather, the surprise is a special, Kickstarter-exclusive box sleeve that makes your game box look like a classic wine box. This was a stretch goal if we reached 1250 backers. We ended up with 942, but we like the idea of exceeding expectations even if it costs us more, so we made the box sleeve anyway.

169 Comments on “FAQ

  1. Looking at the rules, one thing that seems confusing has to do with the section “Gain 1 lira for help” in Summer Actions and “Hire out extra workers for 1 lira per worker” in Winter Actions. Are these things the same action? They seem like the same action, but the wording isn’t completely clear to me, since the latter seems to refer to the former (“See Page 6 for details”). If they are the same, it seems like the name of the action should match more closely.

    Also, in the Yoke description in the Structures section, it says “If the player uses the Yoke action space for the year”, should it say “season” instead of “year” here?

  2. Matthew–That’s a good question. “Gain 1 lira for help” is a truncated version of hiring out extra workers (I can see why it’s confusing).

    The Yoke phrase is correct in the book. If you put a worker on that actions pace to uproot in the summer, you can’t use that space to harvest in the winter.

  3. Slew of questions after playing a couple times.

    What is the brown bag for – Money bag?

    I only have three morale hearts for arborist. I got one from the bottom of each lira punch out card. Where are the other three?

    If I have a yoke and choose to use it in summer to uproot, does the worker stay there for the year or just the season? If the year, do I get to use it again in the fall for harvest? if I use the harvest action spot, and I own a yoke – do I get 2 fields harvested?

    At harvest, must I add the value or can I choose to take a 1&2 white value and place both a 1&2 token on crush pad vs a 3 on crush pad.

  4. Hi Kevin, thanks for your questions. The brown bag is for money or tokens (storage). There are 3 hearts, but you only need 2. They go on the middle action spaces for the “play a visitor card” action spots when you play the Arboriculture expansion.

    Just like workers you place on the board, if you place a worker on the Yoke in the summer, he stays there for the rest of the year. If you use the Yoke harvest spot, you can harvest 1 field (if you have another field, you could harvest it using the normal action space on the board on another turn).

    You must add the value when you harvest. It’s not like the vine has more grapes–it has better grapes. :)

    We’ll do metal lira for the Viticulture expansion.

    Thanks!

  5. Now my wife has a question. In winter, worker 1 she used on the harvest a field action. Can she use worker 2 to crush that same harvest since technically at worker 1 you place tokens on the pad, and therefor available for worker 2 when your turn comes up?

    Clarity on yoke. Are you saying I can’t use it AND the action space to harvest two instead of one field in the same season play?

    1. Right, you can crush whenever you have tokens on your crush pad, even if you just harvested those tokens that winter.

      You can harvest each field once per year. So if you have three fields, you can use your yoke to harvest one of them, and then you can use the harvest x2 space to harvest each of the other two fields.

      And yes, you may only use each worker once per year. :)

  6. ohhhhhh wait. Workers, do I not move the same workers from summer tasks to winter tasks? or once on a summer task they are not available for the rest of the year?
    That would explain why you may pass early. Im going to fill your comment board ;)

  7. Well, we just played our first game and I wish I had read this first as I tossed the Handyman right after I drew him thinking that I’d lose my vines if I yanked my trellis.

    On the upside, I still won. :P

    I believe we were crushing wrong too as we would crush whites and reds at the same time to make both red and white wine on the same turn. Whoops!

    I’m looking forward to more plays in the near future!

  8. SuperG: Ah no, the Handyman is awesome if used well. You only need the trellis to plant the vines, not the maintain them.

    Looks like you all were a little crush-happy. :) The timing of crushing is pretty key.

  9. We played yesterday for the first time, and it was GREAT! Looking forward to trying it with the Aboriculture expansion next time.

    My wife, a graphic designer and WashU alum, insists I ask you about the Viticulture logo. Knowing you’re based in St. Louis, is the “V” supposed to look like the Gateway Arch upside-down?

  10. Matthew–Indeed, that was our subtle nod to St. Louis. :) I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the game!

  11. I have a question: is there a limit on the vines you can plant on a single field? In the manual I see up to three, but I haven’t found a mention of a limit, if there is one.

    Love the game, love this FAQ page! Thank you Jamey!

  12. The sum of the values on the vine cards on a single field cannot exceed 6. Mentioned in Note 1 on page 5 of the rule book.

  13. Played this with my dad for Father’s Day. It was a real hit, even though he’s by no means a regular board game player. (He’s actually excited to invite his wine buddies over to play with him.) Thanks for delivering before Father’s Day!

    Anyway, I had one question about the Arboriculture expansion with respect to the “Play Summer/Winter Visitor” spots. When playing with the expansion, the middle-spot bonus for these actions is now *only* a morale bonus and *not* the ability to play 2 cards. Do I have that right? And the tokens that go on the middle-spots stay there throughout the game? Just checking.

    1. Hi Matthew, that’s great to hear about your dad!

      To answer your question, yes, those tokens replace the normal bonus. However, we really debated their inclusion. The game works fine without them (and in some ways can be more exciting without them since playing two cards at once is a lot of fun).

  14. I am a bit confused about crushing grapes.If I make e.g. white wine, must I use up all my white wine grapes, or can I leave som on the crush pad?

  15. Klaus: When you crush grapes to make one type of wine, you can make as much or as little of that wine as your grape tokens allow. So if you have 3 white grape tokens on your crush pad and you choose the “crush grapes” action, you can move 1, 2, or 3 of those tokens over to your cellar to transform them into white wine.

  16. Hello Mr. STEGMAIER

    Question #1

    The CRUSH Action

    Let’s say that in my Crush Pad I have :
    – 3 Red (5,4,2)
    – 4 White (4,3,2,1)

    If I choose the CRUSH Action, I can do one of the following :
    – 3 Red Wine (5,4,2) or
    – 2 White (4,3) or
    – 2 Blush wine (2+3 = 5 & 5+2 = 7) or
    – 1 Sparkling wine (4+2+1 = 7) or (4+2+4 = 9)

    however, I can’t do either one or the other of the following :
    – 2 Red Wine (5,4) and 1 White (4) or
    – 2 Red (5,4) and 1 Blush (2+5=7)

    So, my conclusion is –» We can do any number of wine from the PAD but only one of the four types (Red / White / Blush or Sparking)

    Am I correct ?

    1. Francois–thanks for all your questions. I’ll answer them one by one. For the first one, yes, that is mostly correct, except that if, for example, you decide to make red wine, you can red wine equal to 5, 4, and/or 2. So if you only want to make 1 or 2 red wine tokens, that’s fine–you don’t need to make all of them. Also, you need to make sure you have the proper cellar.

  17. Hello again

    Question #2

    The CRUSH EXPERT Card or the CRUSHER Card

    If I play one of these 2 cards –» It is like doing a normal CRUSH Action

    Am I correct ?

    Question #3

    The MENTOR Card

    We are in a 5 players games. I play the MENTOR Card.

    I am Player A. Player B, C and E crush some grapes. I can now draw 3 cards from the deck of cards (Green / Yellow / Blue and/or Pink) of the board. Can I choose two (2) cards from the same deck?

    Am I correct ?

    Question #4

    The UNCERTIFIED ARCHITECH Card

    If I play this card, I can build the YOKE (2 coins) and the IRRIGATION (3 coins) for 2 VP

    Am I correct ?

    1. The crusher and crush expert card let you make multiple types of wine, which is different than the normal crush action, which only lets you make one type of wine.

      With the mentor you can choose any type of card to draw.

      Yes, the uncertified architect applies to the Yoke, Trellis, and Irrigation.

      For the Wedding Party card (and any other visitor), you must fulfill all requirements on the card to play it. So if you do not want to or cannot give lira to all other players, you can’t play the Wedding Party. Same with the Queen.

  18. Hello again

    Question #5

    The WEDDING PARTY Card

    5.1) We are in a 5 players games. I am Player A. I have 9 liras. I want to play the WEDDING PARTY Card. So I give 2 liras to players B,C,D &E (the total cost is 8 liras) and I get 4 VP.

    Am I correct in playing the card that way?

    5.2) We are in a 5 players games. I am Player A. I have 9 liras. I want to play the WEDDING PARTY Card. My gold is to get 2 VP by giving 2 liras to players B & C. It’s not in my intention to give something to player D or E, because they are leading the game.

    Am I correct in playing the card that way?

    5.3) We are in a 5 players games. I am Player A. I have only 5 liras. I want to play the WEDDING PARTY Card. My gold is to get 2 VP by giving 2 liras to players B & C. I cannot afford to pay more ?

    Am I correct in playing the card that way?

    Question #6

    The QUEEN Card

    6.1) We are in a 5 players games. I am Player A. I have 7 cards in my hand. I want to play the QUEEN Card. So I give 1 card to players B,C,D &E and I get 8 liras.

    Am I correct in playing the card that way?

    6.1) We are in a 5 players games. I am Player A. I have 7 cards in my hand. I want to play the QUEEN Card. My gold is to give 1 card to players B & C (my cost is 2 cards). It’s not in my intention to give something to player D or E, because they are leading the game.

    Am I correct in playing the card that way?

    6.1) We are in a 5 players games. I am Player A. I have 3 cards in my hand. I want to play the QUEEN Card. My gold is to give 1 card to players B & C (my cost is 2 cards) and keep the other card to use later.

    Am I correct in playing the card that way?

  19. Hello again (author point of view)

    Question #7

    The ARBORICULTURE expansion : the bonus for the “Play Summer/Winter Visitor” Action

    The GAME RULES says –» those tokens (heart) replace the normal bonus.

    Option #1 (from the author …) –» We play the normal game bonus (plays 2 summers / Winter visitors card) and forget the heart bonus

    Option #2 –» Players have the option to choose between the 2 possibilites (Play 2 visitors card or play the heart option)

    Option #3 –» In a 5 to 6 players game, the first player you play this action (Play Summer/Winter Visitors) can choose one of the 2 possibilites. The second players you play this action can choose the bonus not taken by the first player.

    Option #4 –» In a 3 to 4 players game, the first player you play this action (Play Summer/Winter Visitors) can choose one of the 2 possibilites. The second player is left with the normal play (no bonus)

    Am I correct for option #1 ?

    Is option #2 is in the spirit of the game in the author view ?

    Is option #3 is in the spirit of the game in the author view ?

    Is option #4 is in the spirit of the game in the author view ?

    Thanks for the time you take to respond to my multiple questions.

    Francois

    1. That’s a good question about the Arboriculture expansion. I think all of those fit into the spirit of the game.

      As for your last question about Euphoria, I’m sorry you weren’t able to access the campaign. Unfortunately, the Kickstarter version is only available through me during the campaign. However, Miniature Market purchased a number of games through the campaign, which you can now order through Miniature Market. Other backers will be sure to sell their extra copies in December too if you’d like to wait until then.

  20. Hello (last entry … for now)

    Question #8

    I received my Viticulture game the days before Fathers Days (in Canada). It was a very nice present to receive as a gift on Saturday but my wife force me to wait on Sunday to open my new gift!!!

    Unfortunatly for me, i was unable to reach my Email for more then a month beauce of presonnel reasons. So I miss by one day the opportunitly to enter your latest KickStarters entry for your next game Euphoria.

    Is it possible to subscrip for this game or my cat is dead (expression in french meening that it’s over and i am doom) ?

    Francois B

  21. When planting vine cards does each field have to be composed of only similar vines or can you plant different vine types as long as the grape value does not exceed 6?

  22. Never mind I think I just answered my own question. Can’t have white and red grapes in a field if you don’t plant different vines. Might be an interesting variant though if you could only have one type of vine in a field

      1. Since its your starting grape plant it and use it til it lost its necessity or treat it as wild and combinable with any vine set in a field

        1. Just to clear up a few things here, you can plant any type of vine card on a field (by itself or on top of other vine cards of the same or different types). There are no grapes until you harvest, at which point you follow the rules for harvesting as listed in the rules and near the top of the FAQ.

          1. Yeah looked closer and even though wasn’t explicitly stated in the rules I was like oh wait this would be quite difficult otherwise so you must be able to.

  23. Jamey,
    Two items we encountered on our first play:

    1. I did not receive a white rooster (I got a second large cellar instead).

    2. On the oenologist cards, what does it mean to “upgrade your cellar”?

  24. Tomy–Can you please send me your mailing address at stonemaiergames@gmail.com with your request for a replacement part? I’m happy to take care of that.

    As for the oenologist, “upgrading your cellar” means building the next level of cellar. You start the game with a small cellar, and you can then build a medium cellar for 4 lira and then a large cellar for 6 lira. The oenologist cards let you build the cellar using that card for a discount in the winter (normally you can only build things in the summer).

  25. When playing 2 visitor cards due to a bonus space or grande worker:
    option 1) do you play and resolve one visitor card first, drawing new cards or visitor cards from its effects if any, and then choose and play another visitor card from your hand which could be a newly drawn visitor card?
    option 2) or do you play out 2 visitor cards first, then resolve them one by one?

    1. H4–Thanks for your question. You select and play them one at a time, resolving the effects of the first before selecting and playing the second.

  26. In answer to a question above, you say: “When you crush grapes, you place wine tokens on your cellar and then add +1 from the middle action space bonus.”

    Does this mean that if you are making red wine with the +1 bonus, and the 4 red wine space is occupied, a value 4 red grape turns into a value 3 wine, not a value 5 wine?

    1. Klaus–Well, it depends on the value of the grape token. If it’s a 4-value grape token, it would become a 5-value wine token before it reaches the cellar, so you’d end up with a 5-value red wine token. If it’s a 3-value grape token, you can’t even choose the +1 space because you’re not gaining any benefit from it.

      1. Hi Jamey, this sounds a bit repetitive, but I love the game. However, your answer to this question seems a little inconsistent, or else I am just missing something. With respect to crushing wine using the +1 bonus… I’m sure you’re tired of addressing these questions by now… but..

        In the FAQ you state that you place a new wine token in the cellar first, and then add +1 to it (in response to the question about creating a 4 blush from a 1 white, 2 red and +1 bonus; However, in your response below you state that the wine gains the +1 bonus before reaching the cellar… (a 4-grape into a 5 wine, even if there is already a 4 wine in the cellar). I’ve generally been playing using the latter ruling, but are the two statements inconsistent, or is there a differentiator that I’m missing?

        Thanks,
        Gordon

        I pasted the original question and your response below…

        [In answer to a question above, you say: “When you crush grapes, you place wine tokens on your cellar and then add +1 from the middle action space bonus.”

        Does this mean that if you are making red wine with the +1 bonus, and the 4 red wine space is occupied, a value 4 red grape turns into a value 3 wine, not a value 5 wine?

        Jamey Stegmaier
        Jul 7, 2013 at 4:27 pm Reply

        Klaus–Well, it depends on the value of the grape token. If it’s a 4-value grape token, it would become a 5-value wine token before it reaches the cellar, so you’d end up with a 5-value red wine token. If it’s a 3-value grape token, you can’t even choose the +1 space because you’re not gaining any benefit from it.]

        1. Gordon–That’s a great question, and you’re correct that it’s inconsistent. The reason for that inconsistency is the new first edition rules errata. The rules for crushing have actually changed, rendering my previous answer null and void. Fortunately the new rules leave less room for confusion when it comes to making wine. You can see the errata here: https://stonemaiergames.com/second-edition-viticulture/

  27. Hey Jamey. I started looking at the Arboriculture Expansion and I was wondering about the Morale Track. Do we get/lose a VP every time we hit the +1/-1 spot on the Morale Track? Thus, for example, I could have the morale at the top just before end of the year, have it decrease due to end year, then increase by one by gifting/discarding an apple and gain a VP? Due to this mechanism, I could conceivably gain 1 VP every year from this alone (plant an apple tree, build a yoke, get the morale up to the top using Summer/Winter Visitor bonus morale functionality, then always use a worker on the yoke to harvest the apple and gift the apple at end of the year). Do I understand that correctly?

    As a side note, I’m starting to think that the Play 2 Visitor card spots is really powerful and makes the cards a bit more overpowered, so replacing with the heart at least slows it down a bit. Why? Because of this most insane combo: Going first. Wedding Planner (5 VP in a 5 player game, although there are several cards that can get you 3 VP) + Entertainer (4 VP) for summer action. Merchant + Marketer (Potentially 2 VP + 2 Wine Orders) for winter action. That’s potentially game over right there (You could get up to 23 VP right there). I wasn’t THAT lucky and only managed 14 VP, but… yeah…

    1. Vinson–It is a really powerful spot. I think it’s fun to play combos, but it might be too powerful.

      As for your first point, yes, if you actively work on your morale and get it up to the top and ensure that you have the tokens to donate to it, you can get 1 VP a year from the morale track.

      1. Jamey,

        Yeah, combos are fun, but it does allow a person to jump way ahead a bit too easily. I’m going to see if I can try the Arboriculture Expansion this weekend to see how it plays out while introducing the game to new people~

      2. About the Moral Track, are you allowed to use the Leisure, or the Moral Boost (Visitor Card Action Bonus) even if you are already at the top of the track to get a point ? If so, you could possibly gain 4 points a year from moral, 2 with both visitor action bonus, 1 with the Leisure, and another when giving an item (wine, apple, tomato sauce or Olive Oil). Thanks !

        1. Jean-Philippe: Feasibly, yes. It would take a token, two workers, and a grande worker to pull that off.

          1. I re-read the rules and they clearly state that the Leisure can’t be used if already at the top of the Moral track…
            same for the Visitor Card Action Bonus, you can’t use the middle space if you are at the top of the track…
            and I guess you don’t benefit from the bonus if you its the last space available…

            So, you could get 1 point from moral the first time you hit the top of the track, and 1 point at the end of every year if you manage to give a token to your workers…

          2. Good catch, Jean-Phillipe! I’m glad we included that in the rulebook. The other way didn’t seem right.

  28. the 2, 4, and 6 player games seem to be a bit problematic, the grande’ worker seems to help the 2 player game to some degree, and i’ve read about a variant that would say the grande meeple could be placed in an area that is already used up, but i’m curious where we can track discussion on ‘official variants that are being considered.

    1. Hobbes–I’m actually posting a Kickstarter update for Viticulture tonight. Any official rules changes will be noted on the Rules page on this website.

      1. Jamey, awesome. That’s great to know.I think it’d be wise that what ever changes you make, could possibly be ‘bought’ or used as an add-on/upgrade pack when you do the next viticulture expansion. Which would include the new rulebook and grande worker. You’ll have around 1500 or so copies without the grande worker, or new rules. I do understand a certain number of those already had the full KS version, but they’ll also be complicated by the fact that the expansion will already include an expansion they already have. Just trying to offer suggestions as to how your next KS might move forward for this. Maybe a expansion that doesn’t include Arboriculture, then have a more expensive full expansion that includes Arboriculture, along with the grande worker. Then have an add-on for the printed rulebook for 1st edition users.

        1. Yep, that’s exactly what I’ll do. I don’t want anyone to have to buy anything twice, so there will be various versions of the game so people only get what they want/need.

  29. We got this as part of the Euphoria kickstarter, and my wife and I have played the heck out of it since getting it (we’re well into double digits playing just two player, plus we’ve done a number of games with 3+). Some comments:

    3 player is by far the most exciting game. (5 player is a close second). Getting the extra worker space keeps you from feeling like you can’t accomplish anything this year! 4 and 6 player games are pretty fun too, but not as fast as a 3 player game.

    However, the 2 player game can feel frustrating when both of you are trying to accomplish the same things . We stole an idea from your grande worker, and implemented a house rule for 2 player. That house rule is: One (and only one) time a year you can place a second worker where one has already been placed (either one of your earlier workers or your opponent’s). That way if you want to build and they’ve already built, you can too – but if they beat you to crushing, well there’s always next year! We found that it didn’t make the game ‘too easy’ but kept you from getting mad at your partner. :)

    We’ve definitely gotten our money’s worth out of the game – and it’s clearly a labor of love that shows in the quality of the board, components, the way the trays take sleeved cards and everything fits in the box without squishing it! Great game!!!

    1. That’s a clever innovation, Steve! It’s very similar to the new grande worker ability–your example makes me think that change will work. Thanks for sharing!

  30. I’ll definitely be experimenting with the 2 and 6 player games when this gets to the table. Saw a few variants on BGG that included things like steve mentioned.

  31. Yeah, getting 3 points a year from moral only, plus possibly a few other points here and there (spring bonus, selling grapes, visitor cards)…
    you could possibly reach 20 pts in 5 turns…not producing a single bottle of wine…

    So its a good thing the rules prevent this :)

  32. I came across a group at a convention this weekend just getting started learning how to play Viticulture. When I told them how great it was, they asked for my help getting it rolling. I was happy to walk them through the rules, but we came across one issue that I had never encountered before. The player had two fields each with a 1 value for white grapes and placed their worker on the 2x space for harvesting. So, after one 1 grape goes onto the white crush pad, what happens to the next one? I’m assuming you just lose it, because there’s nothing below 1 to downgrade it to. Does that seem right?

    1. Good question (and thank you for teaching the game!) Indeed, because the grape goes to the next lowest value if it’s blocked, and if there is no next lowest value, no grape token is placed. This is an element of strategy that new players will have to learn–you don’t want fields that produce the exact same grape values.

  33. When playing a 3 player game here, is it *necessary* to use the first and middle action spaces if they are available? That is, if a space is open, could a person use the grande worker on the art as a choice and leave the first space open? That would benefit a player that does not have an available grande worker–see what I mean? We are thinking that you must fill up normal action spaces first.

  34. This last weedend I introduced Viticulture to our local gaming group (made up of hard core gamers) and taught the rules (playing with 2nd edition rules). Although I messed up a couple of rules in the beginning, the game played out well and the group had some constructive feedback of the strengths and weaknesses.

    I have a question about the winter visitor card “Master Vinter”, “Increase the value of a wine token by +2 and fill 1 wine order”. The situation was a person had 6 value wine token in a medium cellar, but had not build a large cellar yet. She played the card and said the wine did not need to be “aged” to the large cellar but just increased the value by 2 (which made the wine a virtual 8 value) and was able to fill the order that required a 8 value wine from her medium cellar.

    Was this the way to resolve this winter visitor card or was she suppose to have a large cellar built to be able to increase the value of the wine token to 8?
    Larry

    1. Bogusgig: Thanks for teaching Viticulture to your local gaming group. The wine cellars represent the value of the wine, so if you don’t have the large cellar, your wine tokens can’t have values of 7, 8, or 9. Thus the player could not have used the master vintner in that way.

  35. When 3 or more person game is played, can the first person to use the action place the normal worker on any of the available spaces so that the first person there can take the bonus space, or does the first person to use the action have to take the first space available (usually the space that does not have eh bonus space)?

    1. Lawrence: Players can place workers on the action spaces in any order (there is no left-to-right order or a set order). Thus the first player will, in almost every circumstance (especially since we’ve removed the “friendly rule”), take the bonus action space.

  36. Must you fulfill the action to get the bonus? Eg. You get 1 morale for filling a purple card. But if you are not able to fill a purple card, do you still gain the morale?

  37. So if you are unable to do the action, eg. Fill a purple card, does that mean that you can’t get the bonus? ie Morale point

  38. You can’t harvest a field more than once a year? So if I place a worker on the harvest action and harvest field #1. And then place the Grande Worker there, I can’t harvest field #1 again? Or if I use the Yoke. It has to be a different field?

  39. This may seem like an awfully stupid question, but if I use a worker to play a visitor card that says I need to fill an order in order for xyz reward, do I have to also play a worker on the fill an order space or is the card used in lieu of that? Other than that – this is quickly rising to become one of my favorite games!

    1. Pete: It’s not a stupid question at all! :) Thanks for asking. The visitor serves as the worker–you only need to place one worker on the “play a visitor” action (no additional workers need to be played).

  40. We just played the game for the first time and loved it. It played well and everyone picked it up very quickly. Thanks.
    One query that came up was concerning the bonus for Harvest field. Is this 2 separate harvests or 2 fields at once? So if one field contains 4 white and 2 red and a second contains 3 white and 3 red does this give you 3 & 4 white and 2 & 3 red or a 7 white and 5 red?

    1. Thanks for your question, Paul, and I’m glad you enjoy the game. If you take the Harvest bonus action, you get to harvest 2 different fields instead of 1 field. You take grapes off each field separately (they’re separate actions, one after the other), so you would end up with 4 grape tokens from the harvest you described.

      1. Hi Jamey, Thanks for the clarification. Nice to hear we were doing it correctly.
        PS. I also bought the metal coins and they were a huge hit. A few more games and we’ll dive into the Tuscany expansions.

  41. Firstly, Thank you for all the work you (Jamey Stegmaier) and your teams has put into Viticulture! The game has been an amazing discovery into the mechanics and social interaction with my gaming group. Tons of fun. I only have one little peeve and that is the player boards where slightly warped and this makes the glass droplets fidgety, slightest tiny bump moves them all… (Curious if there is a solution to this without damaging the boards?)

    In terms of the game play and mechanics, the money in the game becomes kinda obsolete late game… More it seemed so to my game group. (only 3 play-throughs so far) Is the money buildup late game intended to purely be used as a tie breaker? I can imagine when the group becomes pro at the game that almost everyone could reach 25 VP… I get asked every time what the point of the money is late game and if they have all their workers….

    Again, Thanks for the game! I will be getting Tuscany soon.

    1. Stef: Thanks for your question. Sure, the vineyard mats are easy to flatten if you just bend them the other way a little bit. They’re sturdy–you won’t damage them! :)

      Right, the goal of the game isn’t to have the most money, so it’s only a tiebreaker. We did add some things in Tuscany to give players a few ways to convert money into victory points throughout the game.

  42. Hello, Jamey.

    With many other commenters, I too enjoy this game very much!

    I have a question about worker placement that I did not see asked by any other commenter. Are you allowed to place one of your workers on a space that is already occupied by a worker you placed earlier? For example, if I placed a worker on the bonus space of the “Build Structure” action in a 3-player game, can I then place another one of my workers on the one remaining non-bonus space of that same action, such that I can build twice in the summer of a single year? I don’t see why not, but I want to make sure I’m playing the game correctly.

    Somewhat redundant with the first question, can I place one of my grande workers on an action space that is already occupied by one (or more) of my regular workers? For example, if the “Build Structure” space is occupied by one of my regular workers and by another player’s worker in a 3-player game (such that no more regular workers can be placed there), can I then place my grande worker on that action space to build twice?

    I appreciate any help you can give!

    ~ Isaiah

  43. Isaiah: Thanks for your question. Indeed, there is no restriction as to how many of your workers can go on an action (other than the limited number of action spaces). See “Worker Placement” section (page 7 of the Essential rulebook). Same goes for the grande worker, whether or not you use his special ability.

    So, for example, in a 3-player game, you could place a worker on a “give tour” action space, then on a future turn put another worker on another action space, then on another future turn put your grande on the art near that action.

  44. Thank you for the reply.

    I suspected as much, but wanted to check anyway. I must’ve totally missed the rule on page 7. Haha, thanks.

    I have one more question. Even though you cannot age your wine past the limit your cellar allows (e.g., a medium cellar cannot age wine past 6), do your grapes continue to age up to 9 with no limit (e.g., can I age my grapes past 6 even if I do not possess a large cellar)?

    ~ Isaiah

  45. Isaiah: That’s correct, there is nothing the prevents you from aging grapes all the way up to 9 value. Unlike the cellars (of which there are three different cellars), there’s just one cohesive crush pad.

  46. Hi, Jamey.

    I had a question about the one-player, Campaign variant. For the 1st challenge, it reads that you begin the game without a Mama card. Does that mean I begin the game without the two regular workers, and with only the grande worker that my Papa card gave me?

    ~ Isaiah

  47. Can I just clarify to be absolutely sure, sorry if already answered I have looked hard for answer: the two page Rule Summary and Reference in the Second Edition (and also found in the Tuscany box) does not mention the 3 lira starting resource in the Setup section, but that is correct yes, assuming not playing with Ms&Ps?

  48. David: Yes, that’s correct. If you’re not playing with Mamas and Papas, you start with $3, 2 regular workers, 1 grande worker, 1 random summer visitor card, and 1 pinot vine card (the cards are in your hand).

  49. The instructions for the Yoke are very confusing and spread throughout the manual. Is this a correct summarization of the rules?

    1) Only one worker may be placed at the Yoke per year, either regular or grande.
    2) The Uproot action may be taken in either summer or winter.
    3) The Harvest action may ONLY be taken in winter, respecting 1 harvest per field per year.

    1. Jay: Here are the correct rules for the Yoke. They’re all dependent on you haven’t built the Yoke.

      1) The Yoke provides a private action space only you may use.
      2) Only one worker may be placed at the Yoke per year, either regular or grande.
      3) The Yoke may be used to Uproot or Harvest in either summer or winter (or any season when using the Tuscany extended board).

      1. Thank you! Using the Harvest action in summer is definitely not described well in the instructions (2nd edition). That is how we played it based on what is printed on the vineyard mats but after the game we reviewed the rules and thought we had made a mistake. Very fun game (but I may be biased because I won).

        1. It’s described best on the quick-reference guide (which is consistent with the rules, but better worded for specificity): “Take either action (Uproot or Harvest) by placing a worker on the yoke. This may be performed in either summer or winter but only once per year.”

  50. Minor FAQ correction: Viticulture EE actually has 154 mini euro cards (42 vines + 36 orders + 38 summer visitors + 38 winter visitors). So, you’ll need 4 packs of 50 euro mini card sleeves.

      1. Oops! I saw Viticulture Essential Edition at the top of the page, and didn’t notice that it was just a link. Thanks for updating anyway! Also, I noticed on the EE FAQ, you wrote there were 164 mini cards. I just recounted from my box, and it’s definitely 154. Might as well fix that before it stresses out some fans!

  51. Hi – advanced professor text indicates vp if “have” 6 workers. If I am training my last worker, do I “have” six?

      1. Thanks for this swift clarification – here’s how close our game was last night with first three Tuscany expansions: 20 / 20(now 22 w points related to this card) / 22 / 23 w 8 lira and no wine in cellar & 23 w 8 lira and a 5pt wine in the cellar! :-)

  52. Complicate one here!
    We are in Winter, I play my last worker (the grande) on Play Visitor card.
    My action was the Manager, that allow me to execute a Summer’s action.
    I execute the Producer, that allow me to pay 2 and retrieve 2 workers from other actions.
    Other players argue with me that I can’t remove my Grande because it was the action I play so I can’t remove it, because the card say “retrieve 2 workers from OTHER actions”

    What do you think?…

    1. Martin: When you play the Producer, the action you look at (to determine what an “other” action is) is the “play one summer visitor” action. So as long as your grande is on another action, you can retrieve it using the Producer.

  53. If a player removes all of the workers from the board, and a grande worker was used by another player to repeat the action, is the initial action available for use again? Or must a grande worker be used?

    1. MB: If an action space is open, anyone can use it with any type of worker (presumably you’re talking about playing with the extended board, which has each player retrieving all workers at the moment they pass out of winter).

  54. We played the Essential Edition for the first time last night and really enjoyed it, but we had a minor dispute about the wording of the Counterfeiter winter visitor card.

    The card says: “Gain $3 OR fulfil 1 wine order even if the type of wine doesn’t match the order (values matter)”. It comes down to how you interpret the “values matter” part. If you have an order for 3 red and 2 white, can you fill it with a single 5 red, or do you need to fill it with exactly 2 wine tokens?

  55. Hi Hi! I have a huge collection of board games and Viticulture Essentials is our number one most played and enjoyed game. My girlfriend and I are slowly going through the Solo Automa Campaign each (we have a score board on our mirror).

    I came to the end of a game where I could only win if I did two fill actions (one normal meeple, and a grande) and on each I used a bonus token to get the bonus victory points (2 actions, 2 bonus tokens, 2 victory points). This placed me at a total 21 victory points, but am I allowed to use two bonus tokens on the same action (in this case “fill”, considering the bonus position was theoretically taken by one of my meeples)? And in that case are you allow to take a bonus token action if the Automa has taken the spot and you place a Grande down? Or are bonus tokens a completely different commodity?

    Looking over the rules it says “You may spend 1 of those tokens per turn when you place 1 of your workers on the board”. Does turn mean year, season, or action (worker placement)?

    Your clarification would help heaps! Cheers. (and great game btw)

      1. Wow thanks for replying so quickly. What I was trying to say was that in that case, I took two turns during that last season on the same position, one turn placing my normal Meeple on the fill position (using one Bonus Action Token, and claiming the bonus victory point), and the second turn placing my Grande worker on the same fill position (using a second saved Bonus Action Token, and claiming a second bonus victory point).

        Given that placing 1 worker is considered a “turn” would that mean it was valid of me to claim a Bonus Action Token on each turn?

  56. Hi Jamey

    when will the reprint be in stores in Europe ? Preffered Belgium. It’s been sold out for a while now and the retailers can’t answer this question.

    thx in advance for you reply !

  57. OK. Definitely one of our faves. Was teaching Tuscany EE to some experience Viti players last night and we hit a VIti rule hitch. I am not sure where or why we were under the impression that exact grape types cant be duplicated in same field. When questioned we could not find it in rule book. Not sure where we got this idea from but we had all though tit was that way.

  58. When playing tuscany with special workers, and a summmer card says retrieve 2 workers from previous actions, can you take back the special workers or the grande worker back, or do you have to take back regular workers ? The card shows the symbol of the regular worker.

  59. Hello! I’ve been playing Viticulture EE with my friends both with the physical copy and the virtual copy on Tabletopia. A question was raised after a play on Tabletopia where each player only has nine grape/wine tokens in their respective color. Is there a limit of how many tokens a player can use to harvest grapes or make wine?

    I checked through the BGG forums and couldn’t seem to find an answer. Perhaps I overlooked this in the rulebook, but since the glass tokens in the physical copy are color neutral, my group has always just assumed there was no limit to how many grapes you can have in your crush pad or wines you can have in your supply, assuming you have the space.

    1. Ben: Thanks for your question! There’s no limit to the grape/wine tokens. In the real game, they’re clear glass tokens–I’m guessing Tabletopia made it that way for digital use (visibility and setup).

      1. Thanks for the clarification, Jamey; that’s what we thought. We appreciate the Tabletopia versions of your games. Gives us more opportunities to play with friends that otherwise couldn’t make it to our physical gatherings due to proximity limitations or general adulting. Keep up the great work!

  60. I think I read this somewhere, but please can you advise. Is 1 lire the absolute minimum for building a structure, despite visitor cards such as Draughsman or Homesteady that may offer a discount greater than the original cost of the structure?

    Btw, a phenomenal game. Such a polished design and an absolute joy to play.

    1. A residual is when you receive lira at the end of every year. So the Noble is saying you can pay a coin now to receive a lira at the end of every year from now on. The residual track is the dial at the bottom right of the game board.

  61. Thanks. I missed that I will collect the residual every year. So when I sell a wine (purple cards) for 1 lira, every year from now I will collect 1 lira, and so on if I complete other orders (maximum 5)./ Another question. I play as first player my first turn in summer. I want to place one worker on “draw vine card”, with the thought that if I am lucky enough to draw “Malvasia”, I will put my second worker on “plant”. Is that right? Or I am obliged to put my workers to tasks, before I draw the vine card?

    1. Yes, that’s correct about residuals.

      On your turn, you place a worker and take that action OR you pass to the next season (and wait for all other players to pass). Then the next player takes a turn. And so on. So yes, you could place a worker on the “draw 1 vine card action” and immediately draw 1 or 2 cards (if you placed on the bonus space). Then on your next turn you could place a worker on the “plant 1 vine” action.

      These are some core concepts of Viticulture. I would highly recommend watching this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5fcDctkFFE

      1. Thanks. To be honest I got confused with “On your turn, you place a worker”. I have seen the video 2 times already and this is how I bought the game. So in my turn in summer, let’s say i am the first player: If i want to place 2 workers, I will place them (all) before the second player, and in my example I will draw a vine card (malvasia) and immediately plant it. Ok?

        1. sav: My previous comment explains that you definitely cannot place all of your workers before the next player takes a turn. Can you please reread it carefully?

          Here’s what a normal summer season looks like:

          You take a turn (place a worker).
          Player B takes a turn (place a worker).
          Player C takes a turn (place a worker).
          You take a turn (place a worker).
          Player B takes a turn (place a worker).
          Player C takes a turn (passes).
          You take a turn (place a worker).
          Player B takes a turn (passes).
          You take a turn (passes.

  62. Mr S, thanks you for your patience. I wasn’t sure about that rule and now i can play the game correctly. Cheers

  63. If you harvest two different fields, during winter, with a one value white vine on each field, will you then only get one white grape token, with the value of one?

  64. Hello Jamey
    Sorry for my broken english…
    Just one question : suppose we are on a 2 players game.
    I place a worker on a summer or winter possible action ( with Only a single slot available). May I use my grande worker to make this same action on the subsequent turn because it is written a grande worker can do the same action even if the slot is occupied?
    I think I can’t…Am I right?

    1. Saintjust: You may do that. Actions in Viticulture don’t care about how many times a player uses them. Like, in a 6-player game, if no one else takes the action spaces, you could even use 4 turns to place workers on each of the action spaces of any action and then place your grande on the art near the action.

  65. What a short transatlantic answer !
    Thanks a lot. May I abuse a while?
    Two short questions :
    1- on a solo game, when I start the game at spring choosing a glass token according to solo preparation of the setup, do I gain the bonus linked to it ? E.g. If I choose the 7th raw do I gain an extra worker + the glass bonus token ( to use later) ?
    2-if I play a card wich allow others players to retrieve one or more workers already played on previous turns or seasons, could those players play an another turn with this “neo-new” worker even il they had passed. In case of not, what is the main goal or the card ? Free slots for the current player?
    Merci pour le jeu et l’ambiance…no need to translate…

  66. Hi James,

    What happens if you harvest a field with 1 white and 1 red grapes but you already have the tokens on your rushing pad? I am assuming you cannot simply take the action. Or can you still take the action but need to discard the tokens?

  67. Hey Jamey,

    Could you help me with understanding this:

    Planner in Viticulture: ”In base Viticulture this card refers only to the summer season”.

    Does mean that “a future season” here is summer (so that visitor card is to be played in winter only) or quite the opposite (and the card is played in summer only, while the future season should be winter)?

    Thanks!

    1. Tatiana: I think that’s a typo, and I’m sorry for the confusion. It should say that the only future season the Planner refers to in regular Viticulture is winter (which on Tuscany’s extended board, there are 4 full seasons, so a “future” season could be fall or winter when you play the Planner in the summer).

  68. Hi Jamey,
    compliments for the boardgame.
    I have a question: can grapes be devalued to make blush or sparkling wine of a specific value the player wishes? For example, a player has a 3 value red grape, a 4 value red grape, and a 3 value white grape. Can these grapes be devalued to make a 9 value sparkling wine?
    Thanks for your time and for answering

  69. Hi Jamey, I have a question about the Grande worker.

    From the rules: “Multiple players may place their grande workers in this way”….in the same location?

    ¿Does this means that, let say in a 6 player game, a location may end with 6 workers (3 standard and 3 Grande ones)?

    thanks

    1. Thanks Oliver! I’m hesitant to ever call a game “complete,” as there’s always the possibility that someone will think of a really cool idea or enough people will request something special. We are planning a small expansion in the vein of Moor Visitors for 2018, but that’s the only thing in the works.

  70. Hello Jamey, thanks for a great game :)

    Anyway please help me with some doubts:

    1) bonus action tokens in solo play – examples:
    a) I put worker on most left action space at “harvest one field” – I take regular bonus as harvesting one more field. So can I spend my bonus action token to take a second bonus (from middle action space) which is 1 lira ?

    b) most left action space at “Harvest one field” is occupied by Automa. I put my grand worker near Automa’s one. I don’t receive a regular bonus as the most left action space is already occupied. But if I spend bonus action token may I receive it ? Or may I receive the second bonus from a middle action space like 1 lira ?

    c) confirm please: I can’t take the same bonus twice – both regular bonus plus bonus thanks to bonus action token – correct ?

    What about Mama&Papa cards – may I first look at cards I receive from Mama and then make a choice from Papa’s card or should I take everything at once ?

    And last question is regarding orange cards. There is written in the rules that You must pay cost to activate the private action space on an orange card. But if I have a star as a bonus on private action space and below is commend “Fill 1” – do I have to fill vine order to receive this star bonus ?

    Thanks for Your help.
    Regards
    Kris

  71. One more question regarding solo play: after choosing 7th row at wake-up chart do I have to choose 1st row in the next year ?

Leave a Comment

© 2017 Stonemaier Games