Click here to request replacement parts.
Buying Scythe-Related Stuff
CORE GAME FAQ
Forcing Workers to Retreat: The first two sentences on the right column of page 11 (Moving into Opponent-Controlled Territories/Controlled by Workers) should read, “If your character or mech move into a territory controlled by an opponent’s workers (and no other units), its movement ends (even if you have a mech ability that would allow it to move further). Each of the opponent’s workers on that territory immediately retreats to their faction’s home base, leaving behind any resource tokens.”
This reflects the original intention of the rule, which allows a player to move a character/mech into a territory containing opponent worker(s), force those worker(s) to retreat, and then move a different unit through that territory.
Completing Objective Cards: There was some ambiguity in the original rules about exactly when on your turn you could complete an objective. Usually the timing doesn’t matter, but for a few cards it does. So we clarified the timing as follows: “You may reveal a completed objective card during your own turn before or after you complete a top- or bottom-row action.” Basically, you can’t complete an objective in the middle of an action.
- Rusviet Variants: In 2-3 player games (where each player is likely to get more encounters), the Rusviet player cannot use their faction ability to place their player token on the their Factory card on sequential turns. Also, do not allow Rusviet to use the Industrial player mat at any player count.
What are some things I should keep in mind during my first play of Scythe (multiplayer)?
- Complete the steps of each action from top to bottom. This is particularly important on the Produce action. Before you do anything else on that action, pay the cost (if any). Are you done paying the cost? Good. Now proceed to gain the benefit.
- Overlapping turns. There is a note in the rulebook that says that when the opponent to your right is taking a bottom-row action, you can start to take your turn. That’s because an opponent’s bottom-row action rarely has an immediate impact on you. Once you get into the flow of doing this, you can significantly decrease Scythe’s playing time.
- Scoring over $100 is very rare, except in low-player-count games with little combat. If you score over $100, there’s a good chance you might be missing an important rule. I would recommend you read Highlighted Rules on page 31 (in fact, I would recommend that to everyone after your first game).
Can I take an action more than once per turn?
Nope. On your turn, you choose one section of your player mat, and you can either take the top action, the bottom action, both, or neither. You cannot take the same action more than once.
How does the Mill work?
It’s similar to the upgrade on the Produce action, with a bonus. If you upgrade the Produce action, you get to produce on 3 different territories, right? The Mill does the exact same thing–it’s a third territory for production (or a fourth if you’ve already upgraded the Produce action). In addition to that, if you choose the Mill’s territory as 1 of the 3 territories where you produce, the Mill itself produces as if it is a worker.
If you choose to produce on the Mill’s territory (say, a mountain) and you have 1 worker there, the Mill produces 1 metal and the worker produces 1 metal. You could even choose the Mill’s territory if there are no workers there, and the Mill would still produce 1 metal (in that example) as if it were a worker. Here’s where Rodney talks about it in his Watch It Played video.
Example: You have 1 worker each on a mountain, farm, and tundra. You also have a Mill on the village. When you select the Produce action, you may choose 2 territories from the mountain, farm, and tundra to produce on. The Mill is on the village, so the village will also produce if you want it to. The Mill itself will act as a worker for production, so it produces 1 worker. If you would had another worker on the village you may also produce 1 worker (though having a worker on the Mill’s territory is not necessary for it the Mill itself to produce).
A BGG user created a short guide that explains the Mill here.
Can I move a mech/character with Seaworthy or Submerge onto or off of a lake if they don’t have Riverwalk?
Yes. There isn’t a river between your mech/character and the lake. Think of it like this: If you walk along the shore of a lake, is there a river between you and the lake? Nope. It’s just land, then water. Same thing in Scythe–rivers are between two land territories, while a lake is adjacent to land territories.
In 1-5 player games, does Crimea’s Wayfare ability allow it leave resources on home bases (theirs and inactive factions)?
When using Wayfare, it’s possible for your character/mech to transport and drop off resources onto a home base. While those resources are on the home base, you cannot spend them and you will not count them during end-game scoring.
If my mech/character ability lets me gain 2 power at the beginning of combat, and if that power boost would give me a star (16 total power), does the game end immediately or does that combat happen?
Each individual combat happens in a self-contained bubble–once a combat begins, it continues through completion. This is a rare case where it’s possible for two players to have 6 stars (it is not possible to get a 7th star, as there is no 7th star token).
Since the first player is the player with person with the lowest-numbered player mat, it’s possible for the next player (clockwise) to have a much higher-numbered player mat with more starting components than the next player. How is that fair?
The starting resources on the player mats are staggered based on two factors (both of which have a very minor impact on the game): One, player order. Two, the playtest data for each individual mat (which shifted around in terms of numerical order during playtesting). So even if the #5 mat is in the second position in clockwise order, part of the balance of that mat’s starting resources is that the #5 player mat appeared to be ever so slightly weaker than the others during the blind playtest process.
Overall, though, the impact on the game is very, very small. If you find it’s more fun for you to deal out the mats clockwise by number, it will not break the game.
When certain mech abilities have been unlocked, can Rusviet’s mechs and character move from their home base across the river onto the farm to the north? Can Polania do the same with the lake adjacent to their home base?
Rusviet can use Riverwalk to cross from their home base to the farm to the north, and Polania can use Submerge to move from their home base to the lake to the north.
- Team Variant: Play Scythe in teams of 2 (decide teams at the beginning of the game). Play everything as normal, except each team has 10 stars to place (instead of 6 per player), and they may only place 1 star on each section of the Triumph Track (the Saxony player does not have this limitation for objectives and combat). At the end of the game, count up each player’s coins, add them to their partner’s coins, and compare each team’s total to determine the winner.
- End-Game Variant: When a player places their 6th star, their turn immediately ends, and each other player may take one final turn. However, those players may not take Move actions.
What are some things I should keep in mind during my first play of Scythe (single player)?
Here are two detailed threads on BoardGameGeek to check out:
Do I need multiple sets of the expansion Automa cards if I also have multiple sets of the original Automa deck?
The current version of the Automa deck incorporates all of the changes that the 4 replacement cards in the ‘expansion set’ add to the original version of the Automa deck. No one needs the ‘expansion set’ for the recently produced Automa decks.
The current version of the deck will work with any faction (original or expansion). The original deck wouldn’t work with the two new factions. The 4 replacement cards (the expansion set) are identical to the cards they replace in the original deck, with the following exception: These 4 new cards have faction specific actions for the two new factions. Therefore, you ONLY need to have these cards in your deck, if that deck was published before the expansion and if you are having the Automa play one of the two new factions (the new cards still work fine if you are not playing one of the two new factions).
If you are updating original Automa decks, you need a maximum of two expansion sets and this is only if you are having the Automa play as BOTH of the new factions at the same time. As an example, you could play as Albion against the Automa who is playing, Togawa, Rusviet, and Polonia, with three Automa decks, but only one needs to have been updated with the expansion set (for Togawa).
When I place my first star against the Automa, when do I reshuffle?
Reshuffle on the Automa’s next turn.
If the character and the mech are at the home base, what is the automa priority order for combat?
Choose the mech. Thematically, the character would dispatch its mech to attack.
INVADERS FROM AFAR
Why don’t the expansion factions have power dials?
It’s a matter of coherency and consistency. The Scythe expansion is a retail product that is compatible with any version of Scythe, but as a retail product, it needs to be cohesive and consistent with the retail core game. If a retail customer opens an expansion box to discover 2 new power dials, they might wonder if they should have gotten 5 in the original game. While I highly, highly value our backers, in the long run, the majority of people who own Scythe will have the retail version, so consistency with that version is the long tail.
When considering things like this, we also look necessity and impact on price. Only 2 dials are ever needed in any game of Scythe. It’s not like combats are happening so quickly that you don’t have time to pass the dial to your neighbor. It’s nothing more than a nice bonus to have extra dials, hence how it’s ripe for a promo product. Also, more dials equals higher cost, and higher cost equals higher price. Adding the dials would increase the price of the expansion from $30 to $35, and we don’t think it’s fair to charge all people for something only some people want.
Is the expansion compatible with my special Kickstarter edition of Scythe?
Of course! Everything you have in your special KS edition already covers what you need to play the expansion (coins, resources, power dials, etc.). We’re making expansion-themed coins and power dials for sale in early 2017, but they’re ancillary, not necessary.
Help! Why are my Albion mechs broken?
Is the expansion be available in other languages?
Yes! All of our international partners for Scythe also have the expansion.
Can I place a Trap or Flag on the Factory?
Yes (consistent with other rules about Trap and Flag placement, of course).
THE WIND GAMBIT
Why are all the airship miniatures the same sculpt?
Each of the 7 factions has 1 airship miniature in their faction color, but the sculpts are identical. There are three reasons for this: One, thematically, all airships have the same abilities (the abilities are randomized at the beginning of each game). We tested it both ways, and it worked best this way.
Two, the cost to make a high-quality mould for a miniature this size is about $10,000. Expansions like this are a low-margin product, so adding an additional $60,000 for six more moulds is a significant expense.
Three–and this is really important–when we get the original sculpt from a 3D modeler, it’s not like we instantly start making miniatures. Rather, it’s the beginning of an extensive process to maximize the durability and aesthetics, as well as exactly how different parts of the mini will fit into the mould (big miniatures like this are often comprised of multiple pieces).
For the Wind Gambit, this process took 2 months for a single miniature. At the end of that process, I actually sent the updated digital model to the original sculptor so he could do some final touch-ups to the updated design. This was particularly important because Panda was in charge of ensuring that workers and resource tokens could fit onto the miniature.
Don’t the airships make the Nordic faction ability worthless?
The Nordic ability is quite different from the airship ability. With Nordic’s ability, your workers can cross rivers at any time, allowing them to go in completely different directions, establish area control, and build/deploy/produce. With airships, you can only pick up or drop off workers during the airship’s movement, and the airship can’t divide a conquer the way multiple workers can, nor can workers on airships do anything (they don’t control territories, build, deploy, produce, etc). Also, only half of the airships can carry workers.
Why is there a place on the board for objective cards?
There’s a place on the board for the objective cards in case a future expansion has players draw cards from the objective deck or interact with it in different ways. There is no such interaction in the base game.
Why does a little bit of the back-of-board art show up on the edges of the front of the board?
When you print a double–sided board, you’re actually printing two pieces of paper and applying one to side A and one to side B. You have to apply one piece of paper first, then the other. The second piece of paper has to wrap around the other side a little bit to stay in place.
Usually you don’t notice this in a game because the board only has one side or the two sides are very similar. But in the case of Scythe, the art of the back is at a different scale than the front. We decided to wrap it the way we did so players who use the extended board would have a seamless game board—the seam between the board and the board extension would be disrupted by the extra wrapping.
Can I log my game stats somewhere and see if some factions or player mats are stronger than others?
Why do the character miniatures in the current retail version look slightly different than the original versions?
After making 40,000 or so miniatures, we had to update the moulds for the original Scythe characters. Whenever we do that, we take the opportunity to improve details and durability. They’re the same miniature sculpts, just with slightly different moulds. A few people have asked if they could purchase the updated models, so we’ve made them available here (the 2 Invaders from Afar characters are included, though they have not changed).
Why is Scythe classified as a 4x game?
My intent isn’t to wedge Scythe into that category or mislabel it, but rather to expand what seems to be a narrow definition. Below are the Wikipedia definitions of each of the Xs:
Explore means players send scouts across a map to reveal surrounding territories.
Expand means players claim new territory by creating new settlements, or sometimes by extending the influence of existing settlements.
Exploit means players gather and use resources in areas they control, and improve the efficiency of that usage.
Exterminate means attacking and eliminating rival players. Since in some games all territory is eventually claimed, eliminating a rival’s presence may be the only way to achieve further expansion.
Here’s why I chose to apply the 4x label to Scythe:
Explore: In Scythe, characters are moving from their homeland onto a patch of land surrounding the mysterious Factory. The landscape itself is known–you can look across the horizon and see there’s a mountain there. What you don’t know is (a) the encounters you’ll have along the way and (b) what you’ll find when you get to the Factory. It’s in those elements of discovery that you are exploring in Scythe.
Expand: In Scythe, players claim new territories with their units and buildings. At the end of the game, territory control is a big part of scoring.
Exploit: In Scythe, players gather and use resources (food, metal, oil, and wood) and improve the efficiency of that usage through upgrades, building, and enlisting.
Exterminate: In Scythe, players can use mechs and characters attack other players and eliminate opposing units from territories. It’s true that you’re not permanently killing units, though in any game it’s tough to kill an inanimate plastic token (maybe melt it?). It’s also true that Scythe is more often about the threat of combat than combat itself.
All of that said, I don’t want people thinking that Scythe is a game about flipping over hexes and constantly killing opponents’ troops. Rather, I hope people see Scythe as a different take on 4x.
Why is a dollar sign used for currency instead of another symbol?
Jakub and I discussed in detail which symbol we should use for currency in Scythe, and we decided that the $ sign was the clearest symbol. Each coin in Scythe’s fictional 1920s universe is based on a different faction–there is no universal currency (the Euro didn’t exist yet). Yes, we could have created a new symbol, but it would have been yet another symbol for players to remember. We had the choice between making something up (which would have confused a lot of people) or using a universally recognized symbol for money. We chose the latter, especially since $ is used to represent currency for a number of real-world countries. This decision was well informed by discussions with backers and finalized during the Kickstarter campaign.
Why are there typos in the art book?
There are about 8 pages with text in the entire book. 7 of them were proofread and are near-perfect. 1 of them (page 4) was not, and it’s for a reason.
Page 4 contains a letter written by Jakub to the reader of the book. Jakub’s English is excellent, but it’s not his first language. I could have edited and rewritten Jakub’s letter, but it would be like editing an exact quote. You can’t do that (well, you can, but I didn’t feel it was right).
Please don’t read page 4 and see typos. Read page 4 and see the words of an artist who put his heart into the world of Scythe–the art, the game, and the book. Jakub is very proud of this book, so give him the opportunity to speak to you on page 4 as if you were looking him eye to eye, thanking him for letting us into his world.
Why isn’t the board modular?
There are five key reasons why the map isn’t modular.
- The art simply wouldn’t be nearly as cohesive if it were made of modular tiles. The Scythe board tells a story; modular hexes do not.
- The world of Scythe isn’t modular–this is a specific world we’ve built that’s based on an alternate-history 1920s Eastern Europe, not a random one generated by the players.
- The map is one of the biggest aspects of the faction-based asymmetry in the game. We’ve designed the Nordic faction’s abilities based on them starting in the north with limited access to certain resources, for example, and all factions have a mech “riverwalk” ability that correlates precisely to their homeland. Same with all the other factions.
- The board includes three tracks and several places to put cards, which allows for better organization than if these items were floating around the table.
- There’s already a lot of variability in the Scythe setup (namely, 25 different combinations of faction and player mats and tons of different objective and encounter cards).
How big and heavy is Scythe?
All versions of Scythe are 300 x 365 x 98mm. The weight of the retail version is 3.28 kg (7.2 lbs).
What are the card totals for the KS editions of Scythe?
- 36 encounter cards (8 of these are promos)
- 18 factory cards (6 of these are promos)
- 27 objective cards (4 of these are promos)
- 42 combat cards
- 5 Riverwalk cards
- 5 quick-start cards
- 31 Automa cards
In the KS versions, the promos are in the same shrinkwrap as the other cards.
Also see the breakdown for each edition of Scythe below: