Scythe: The Wind Gambit

Scythe: The Wind Gambit

Jamey Stegmaier and Kai Starck | art and worldbuilding by Jakub Rozalski

This expansion for Scythe adds 2 expansions: airships and resolutions.

1-7 players

90-140 minutes | $25 MSRP

Buy from Stonemaier

or

Order from Retailers

Media

Scythe: The Wind Gambit contains two modular expansions: airships and resolutions. The airship module was originally created and shared in the Scythe Facebook group by Kai Starck. Jamey read over the rules and was impressed both by what the airships added to the game and by the effort Kai had put into the expansion through writing the rules and playtesting it. So Kai, Jakub, and Jamey collaborated to hone the airship module.

In the airship module, 2 airship tiles are randomly paired at the beginning of the game (1 passive and 2 aggressive; there are 16 total tiles). Each player’s airship miniature (a new type of unit; 1 big miniature for each of the 7 factions [the sculpts are identical, and the bases are different colors to match the factions]) has those abilities, as well as the core ability that airships are free to move onto any territory (land or water) and across rivers. Each player starts with their airship on their home base, so they can start moving out of their home area right away. The airship miniatures measure 101x33x41mm, and they have clear, plastic, removable stands/bases.

In the resolution module, resolution tiles add a twist to the way each game ends. There are 8 of them, and 1 will be used each game. They often have an impact in the decisions you’ll make throughout the game.

Scythe: The Wind Gambit is available from retailers worldwide. The MSRP is $25, and the SKU is STM631.

29 Comments on “Scythe: The Wind Gambit

  1. Hi, I have a question, when a player move a airship he can also move another thumbnail?
    For example I move an airship of two hexagon, then I can move also a mech?

    1. Riccardo: At the beginning of the game, your player mat’s Move action shows 2 movement. That means you get to move 2 different units. So you could apply one of those movements to your airship (each airship has a different range, but if it has a range of 3, you could move the airship up to 3 spaces), and then you could apply the other movement to one of your other units, like a mech.

  2. There was a backstory for the mechs and characters that I used for inspiration for painting them. Is there any backstory to the factions airships?

  3. I have a question about passive card 12 in wind gambit expansion. If I complete an objective card and earn a star, do I turn in my other objective cards to the deck? In other words, can l still use the airship’s passive ability to exchange objective cards and earn a popularity bonus?

  4. Hi, i just get my hands in this super cool game who fascinated all my group, but even being easy to grasp i have some confused ideas about some rules im sure you can help me with (For a disclaimer i will say i looked after those questions before but didnt found anything related too).

    Got a question about the skill tool in the airship card.

    Whe play the advanced variant where every ship has different skills, this means not all the ships can carry resources.

    Since we have to pay one resource the unit carry to leave the space of the airship with tool this seems to be impossible for certain ships to do since they can only carry workers.

    So the question is ¿Does tool affect other airships or it work only for ground units).

    Also, in the same variant, if someone has the blitzkrieg skill, ¿Is him the only one allowed to put cards/power in the airfight? Looked reasonable to me since otherwyse the usefulness of the skill will be pretty much negated.

    And while whe are at that ¿Isnt the war reporters (Sorry for the translate, i have the spanish version of the game) too lame compared with other belic skills? Just win 2 or 3 coins at the cost of havinf 1 or 2 workers not producing nor doing something useful looks pretty bad in my opinion.

    1. Vladimir: Thanks for your question. That variant is a variant because of situations like this–there are no rules that allow for these situations. I think you could house-rule Toll to apply only to ground units, not airships (as it normally does).

      I would say that Blitzkrieg cannot be used at all in this variant, as its ability is specifically about airship-to-airship combat.

      Whether or not a card is “lame” is up to you to decide. Obviously I think the ability is good enough, or I would not have designed it.

  5. Hello Jamey, what happens to the Bounty card if I have my airship in a territory under my control, but only with workers and an opponent’s mech moves in? Do I get to use the resources on the ship to call in my mechs?

  6. With the aggressive tile 7 of the Wind Gambit, will placing the airship in a territory with units prevent the units from leaving it without paying a toll, or can the units leave the territory freely?

  7. Love being able to move workers to new hexes and build on them in order to meet the Structure Bonus cards easier! Love the expansion!

  8. Tried this extension for the first time yesterday with my kids and we can’t figure out exactly, even by watching videos, how exactly to move workers/ressources from the airship to the hex and vice versa…

    Exemple: Wood available on an hex and I move my airship on the hex. Rules say I can’t use the woord since it’s not on the airship. How/when can I transfert the ressource abord the airship? Only when I move the airship to another hex? Same thing for workers : THe airship grabs them just like the mech does when it moves to another hex? The mech drops automatically the workers on the destination hex. Same thing for the airship?

    Thanks you!

    1. Whenever you move an airship from, to, or over a hex that either (a) you control or (b) no opponent controls, you can put the resources on the airship. So yes, same as the mech.

  9. I have a question concerning the Wind Gambit extension.

    What happens with the resources uploaded to an airship which lost a combat? Are they dropped and remain on the territory (like during land combat)? The description of the airship tile “Blitzkrieg” just refers to what happen with workers, but not to resources.
    Thank you for your support.

    Best regards

    Michael

  10. Hi, I have a question about combination of aggressive airship tiles BOMBARD/BOUNTY/ESPIONAGE abilities and Crimea’s ability COERCION.

    Can Crimea’s player pay 1 combat card as if it were any resource token from his airship to use more ability of aggressive airship tiles BOMBARD/BOUNTY/ESPIONAGE before he engages in combat on his airship’s territory?

    For example: Before combat on his airship’s territory, can Crimea’s player pay 2 resources from his airship and 1 combat card from his hand to reduce his opponent’s power by 5 according to BOMBARD tile? Or only 2 resources to reduce power by 3?

    1. Yes, sure.

      Crimea’s faction ability:
      CRIMEA (COERCION): Once per turn, you may spend 1 combat card as if it were any
      1 resource token. The Crimean faction has a longstanding tradition of selling information to the highest bidder. They may spend 1 combat card per turn as if it were a resource to pay for
      something (1 combat card = any 1 resource token, regardless of the number on the
      combat card). Combat cards are still worth nothing at the end of the game.

      aggressive airship tile for my example:
      BOMBARD
      Before you engage in combat on your airship’s territory, you may pay 1/2/3 resources from this airship to reduce your opponent’s power by 1/3/5.

  11. Helo i have one question about Factory explosion Card. Here on site are two version of it and i dont know what is correct. In game we have: The first player to have 5 or 6 stars on the Triumph Track during their turn will gain 5coin and complete their turn….
    Question is if first player place 5th star he gain 5coin then second player place 5th and 6th star in his turn he gain 5coin too?
    Then from first player must be playing two round or from second player or second player end the game.
    In case: if first player lose fight in his turn then second player put his 5th star on triumph. Then the second player came on turn he end his turn and then start that two rounds or he must put star in his turn and thats the reson why there are or 6th stars.

    P.S. Sorry for my English and thanks for great game. We loved it in Slovakia

    1. It’s just the first player to place their 5th star (the 6th star is mentioned because players can still place 6 stars if possible before the game ends). It’s from that first player that the last two rounds begins.

      1. Hi i am here again :D
        We playing today with BackUp Plan and get another unexpected situation.

        In my turn I decide to take move action and get more hexes in control. I was in bether situation with population to win the game.(Potencial higher score) With last unit i start fight with Crimea and want to finish the game with the sixt star of Crimea (i cannot wait on his turn cose he get bether situation then to win – i want losed the battle) Then we start calculating ours score and i get the most. Now we dont know who could benefit from Back Up Plan.
        I with Saxony (who caused putting the sixt star) or Crimea that put their sixt star.

        And one more question. If Crimea benefit from it and he is before me. Am i going next turn again (two times in row) and all others player with last Crimea or i am skipped.

        Thanks for answer.

  12. Hey, I had a problem, me and my father were playing with each person using their own airship abilities, he has the ferry ability (card 9) and was wondering if he can move a worker through the lake where his airship is, even if there is a polonia mech on the lake. I believe it doesnt work that way but he argues the worker enters the airship and then exits it

Leave a Reply to Vladimir Ruano Calabrese Cancel reply

© 2019 Stonemaier Games